Skip to main content

"504"

Submitted by an LD OnLine user on

Do parents abuse the meaning and intent of “504”?

Submitted by Anonymous on Fri, 03/28/2003 - 4:06 PM

What an interesting question, especially in the Social Skills Forum.

Could you give an example of what you mean?

Barb

Submitted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2003 - 6:52 PM

I am a teacher who deals with students who are not necessarily receiving any modifications due to section 504. However once some hear of what can be provided under 504 they seem to ask for it all in the hopes that it will make school life easier for them and particularly for their child. It seems as though they just want to take advantage of the modifications. However there also seems to be a stigma attached if the student is eligible for modifications. Inn two instances its as though the parent(s) wanted the modifications regardless of any stigma, just to have it easier for their child. My question is why?

Submitted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2003 - 8:08 PM

Define easier? Are the parents having problems helping with student with the work? Do the students become difficult, when working with the parents? There are so many possible issues with this question. Parents don’t always see the stigma or understand it.

Submitted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2003 - 8:53 PM

Or they may see the stigma and decide it is the lessor of two evils.

I’m not familiar with the 504 as my children have IEPs. Talk about stigma being in spec ed! But the alteritive was for them to not learn anything, fail school.

Submitted by Anonymous on Mon, 03/31/2003 - 8:55 PM

Thanks, Stan. I understand better where you are coming from now and why this is in the social forum.

I can’t help here but I hope others answer your question. You may wish to repost in a parents forum.

Barb

Submitted by Anonymous on Tue, 04/01/2003 - 1:39 PM